Welcome to the Fox Island MuseumThe Fox Island Historical Society held its first meeting on February 22, 1897, and has held a Washington's Birthday potluck every year since for 119 consecutive years. It is now held on President's Day each year.
The Historical Society was reactivated in 1959 and opened the first Museum in the Nichols Community Center.
The present Museum building opened in 1980.
The mission of the Fox Island Historical Society is to enrich the greater community through the discovery, preservation, and sharing of knowledge about the history of Fox Island.
President Marie Weis
Vice President Tony Moore
Recording Secretary Jane Schuelein
Corresponding Secretary Mary Ann McCool
Treasurer Vera Hackett
Board of Directors:
Juanita Bjork, Corey McCool, Kathi Densley, Gail Jones, George Jones, Colleen Koval, Karen Kretschmer, Maureen Partridge and Betty Wikstrom.
There are more than 3000 artifacts on display in Dioramas, Showcases, and free standing exhibits. Among them is a display describing the life of former Governor Dr. Dixy Lee Ray, the largest collection of pulley blocks in the State, Indian artifacts and several antique gasoline engines in working order.
Our current main exhibit highlights the Mosquito Fleet that served Puget Sound and Fox Island. Come and see our topo relief map showing ports of call and shipwrecks.
Hours of Operation
- Wednesdays, Saturdays & Sundays: 1:00 PM to 4:00 PMThe museum will be closed Easter Sunday, April 5, 2015 -
Admission $1.00 - Current Members free
- Group Tours: Call Marie Weis at 253-549-8140 for information
Thanks for supporting the Fox Island Museum.
Find us on FACEBOOK!